Board of Education Regular Meeting

April 11, 2017 7:30 PM Library at Potter Site

A. Call to Order

President Donna Juelfs called the April 11, 2017 regular meeting of the Potter-Dix Schools BOE to order at 7:33 pm.

B. Publication of Meeting

President Donna Juelfs stated that notice of the meeting was published in the Sidney Sun Telegraph and the Western Nebraska Observer.

C. Open Meeting Act

President Donna Juelfs pointed out that the Open Meetings Act was posted on the Library wall.

D. Roll Call

Attendance Taken at 7:33 PM:

Present Board Members: Lori Biesecker Bryan Herboldsheimer Donna Juelfs Royce McConnell Chandell Oleson Mike Rotert

E. Pledge of Allegiance

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all present.

F. Consent Agenda

Motion Passed 6-0: To approve consent agenda as presented with a motion by Mike Rotert and a second by Bryan Herboldsheimer.

```
Lori Biesecker
                             Yes
Bryan Herboldsheimer
                             Yes
Donna Juelfs
                             Yes
Rovce McConnell
                             Yes
Chandell Oleson
                             Yes
Mike Rotert
                             Yes
   Approve April 11, 2017 Regular Board Meeting Agenda
1.
     Approve March 14, 2017 Regular Board Meeting Minutes
2.
   Approve the April 11, 2017 Claims/Financial Report
3.
4.
     Invest Funds at the Potter State Bank
     Recognize March Students of the Month
5.
      K: Briley Baxendale
      1<sup>st</sup>: Kadence Fisher
      2<sup>nd</sup>: Alen Buettenback
      3<sup>rd</sup>: Cayli Spencer
       4<sup>th</sup>: Kaydence Vieira
      5<sup>th</sup>: Mashel Demilt
       6<sup>th</sup>: Alex Anton
```

Congratulations to Coaches Oleson, Hornbarger, and Kasten for winning the team District championship in Sidney on March 16, and to the following students for qualifying for the State Contest held in Kearney on March 24: Levi Kasten (Humorous & OID), Zach Librande (Duet Acting), Dawson Sharman (Duet Acting & OID); JT Herboldsheimer (OID), Payge Hoffman (Persuasive), Audrey Juelfs (OID), Brooke

Moench (Duet Acting & OID), Michaela Rotert (Informative & Persuasive), Hannah Stahl (Poetry & OID), Michael Steele (Duet Acting & OID), Mikayla Cook (OID), Ginny Herboldsheimer (Poetry)

Congratulations to Levi Kasten for winning the Class D2 State Championship in Humorous Prose at the State Speech Contest in Kearney on March 24. Congratulations also to Michaela Rotert for placing 4th in Informative Speaking.

Congratulations to Alexus Rozelle, Dawson Sharman, and Audrey Juelfs for being named All-State Honorable Mention in both the *Omaha World Herald* and the *Lincoln Journal Star*. Congratulations to Trinity Langley for also being named All-State Honorable Mention in the *Lincoln Journal Star*.

Congratulations to the teachers of math in grades 3-8 and 11 for being recognized by the Nebraska Rural Community Schools Association (NRCSA) for closing the gap on NeSA math scores for 2015-16 between students on free/reduced lunches and those students not.

G. Recognition of Visitors/Communication with the Public G.1. Patrons - None G.2. Teachers - Ryan Mumm, Jo Wells G.3. Students - None

H. New Business/Discussion Items
H.1. Board of Education Report
H.2. 7-12 Principal's Report
H.3. Superintendent/Elementary Principal's Report
H.4. Board Policies, Section 3
H.5. Facilities Projects
H.6. Extra-Curricular Activities Overtime
H.7. Safety/Security Plan

I. Action Items

I.1. Resignation

Motion Passed 6-0: To accept, with regrets, the resignation of Sharon Johnson effective at the end of the 2016-17 school year and thank her for her years of service with a motion by Lori Biesecker and a second by Mike Rotert. Lori Biesecker Yes Bryan Herboldsheimer Yes Donna Juelfs Yes

Royce McConnell	Yes
Chandell Oleson	Yes
Mike Rotert	Yes

I.2. 7-12 Principal's Contract

Motion Passed 6-0: To approve a 7-12 Principal contract with Jane Brown for the 2017-18school year with a motion by Mike Rotert and a second by Chandell Oleson.Lori BieseckerYesBryan HerboldsheimerYesDonna JuelfsYesRoyce McConnellYesChandell OlesonYesMike RotertYes

I.3. 2017-18 Teaching Contract(s)

Motion Passed 6-0: To approve the teaching contract for Debra Carpenter-Nolting for the 2017-18 school year with a motion by Lori Biesecker and a second by Mike Rotert. Lori Biesecker Yes Bruan Herboldsheimer Yes

Bryan Herboldsheimer	Yes
Donna Juelfs	Yes
Royce McConnell	Yes
Chandell Oleson	Yes
Mike Rotert	Yes

I.4. Dix Water Well

Motion Passed 6-0: To approve the Dix water well easement with a motion by Mike Rotert and a second by Chandell Oleson.

	010001
Lori Biesecker	Yes
Bryan Herboldsheimer	Yes
Donna Juelfs	Yes
Royce McConnell	Yes
Chandell Oleson	Yes
Mike Rotert	Yes

I.5. Eclipse Field Trip

Motion Passed 6-0: To allow students in grades 7-12 to travel to the campus of the University of Nebraska-Kearney for the viewing of the solar eclipse on August 21, 2017 with a motion by Donna Juelfs and a second by Bryan Herboldsheimer.

Lori Biesecker	Yes
Bryan Herboldsheimer	Yes
Donna Juelfs	Yes
Royce McConnell	Yes
Chandell Oleson	Yes
Mike Rotert	Yes

Motion Passed 6-0: To enter closed session at 8:51 pm to discuss the security and safety plan with a motion by Mike Rotert and a second by Donna Juelfs. All of which is clearly necessary for the protection of the public interest or for the prevention of needless injury to the reputation of an individual in compliance with the law. President Juelfs re-stated that closed session will only be used to discuss the security and safety plan.

Motion Passed 6-0: To reconvene into regular session at 9:12 pm with a motion by Lori Biesecker and a second by Chandell Oleson. President Juelfs re-stated that closed session was used only to discuss the security and safety plan, which is clearly necessary for the protection of the public interest or for the prevention of needless injury to the reputation of an individual in compliance

J. Adjournment

Motion Passed 6-0: To adjourn the April 11, 2017, regular Board of Education meeting at 9:13 p.m., and set the next regular meeting for May 16, 2017, at 7:00 p.m. with a motion by Mike Rotert and a second by Chandell Oleson.

-	
Biesecker	Yes
Herboldsheimer	Yes
Juelfs	Yes
McConnell	Yes
	Herboldsheimer Juelfs

Chandell Oleson	Yes
Mike Rotert	Yes

President

Secretary